Sea Isle City Cinnamon at Mrs. Brizzle’s Buns

22 Jun

My Aunt Chrissy has an incomparable sweet tooth. Once, at The Clinton Station Diner, she bought everyone in our 10-person party giant cannolis to take home after our feast of burgers and omelets. Therefore, when she told me about Mrs. Brizzle’s Buns in Sea Isle City, NJ, I had no choice but to try the sinful pastries.

We walked into Mrs. Brizzle’s around 11am on a roasting Saturday morning. Mrs. Brizzle (with blonde mane puffed on top of her head like one of her pastries) was there…and clearly captain of the ship. She took orders, gave orders, and heaved massive cinnamon buns onto struggling paper plates. A host of high school and college kids, fresh out of school, ran around like lemmings looking for a cliff. Pure chaos, which in my mind came to a head as I saw these lemming slather, not drizzle, TWO INCHES of butter cream onto each prosperous bun. It was too much to handle. And I knew I had to have one.

Bun is way larger than it appears. Camera angle coupled with my massive head does not do it justice.

Now, I was told that cinnabons are worse for you than eating deep-fried Crisco. But I was fooled! This bun was….SO….good for every part of the human body. It warmed my heart and buttered my soul with cinnamon loveliness. The soft, moist middle of the bun brought me to a type of nirvana of which I cannot put into words. The shouts of Mrs. Brizzle and the shuffling of the lemmings silenced in the distance as I enjoyed my seaside delight.

If you are ever in Sea Isle City, I urge you to indulge in Mrs. Brizzle’s Buns. Aunt Chrissy says she buys 6 of them at a time and treats herself every morning. This, friends, I cannot fathom…but still I know: always trust the advice of your auntie with a solid sweet tooth.

3 Responses to “Sea Isle City Cinnamon at Mrs. Brizzle’s Buns”

  1. Wez June 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Yum. Aunt Chrissy is the queen of decadent desserts. Tell Mrs.Brizzle to slather some up for me.

  2. Beanie! June 23, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    I was such a luckily little bean when my Mum (aka Aunt Chrissy) came back with a box of them!…well….there were two left out of what seemed to be six. NEVER THE LESS! I nearly cried due to pure delicious joy!

  3. Aunt Chrissy June 24, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    Yes, I am the maven of sweet mouthwatering morsels and I deem Mrs Brizzle’s Cinnamon Buns THE BEST! Love, Aunt Chrissy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

